//
you're reading...
Mister Fixit, Open Source, POSSE

POSSE RIT TUESDAY Commarch Assignment

Yesterday went extremely well. I will admit to being fairly nervous about how my assignment on Commarch (community architecture) would be received, but the delightful crew of faculty we have in attendance leaped right in with both feet, and really got to the meat of the assignment right away.

Chris also introduced us (I’m wiping the dust off of what little I know/remember) to the suite of development tools that we will be using for the start of the deep dive on Wednesday, git commands and some other relevant scripting commands. I was just able to follow the barest thread of what he was doing. I understood conceptually, but I have no experience with the details/specifics–a condition I am trying to remedy today and tomorrow.

BUT when I went to setup my MacBook, I realized that the fact that my Tiger OS is no longer supported was going to be a significant barrier to doing development on that machine. We are going to hack on an old Firefox bug. None of the tools support Tiger at this point. So Chris got a server online at Seneca (College) where I could work remotely. However, when I got home, I remembered that I had a netbook for which I was ready to do an install of an Ubuntu stack called Easypeasy. Got Easypeasy installed, but then could not get the new OS to talk to the wireless–likely a driver issue, and that was as far as I got. By that point it was nearly 10PM and I was thrashed. So I’m up early today (Wednesday) and I’m hoping to be working on my environment this morning. I’m going to cart my new Linux machine with me to see if I can find a gearhead at the CSI (Center for Innovation) to get me talking to the internets. : ))

Discussion

2 thoughts on “POSSE RIT TUESDAY Commarch Assignment

  1. I have no idea why the photo editor stuck two sets of photos in there. I also rotated that last one. Grrr.

    Posted by afreshvegetable | August 11, 2011, 1:06 pm

Leave a Reply

